About Us

Mission Statement

The Texas Association for Bariatric Surgery exists to reduce the incidence and consequence of obesity in Texas through advocacy, education and prevention; to promote access to appropriate obesity treatments; to end obesity discrimination and bias; and to advance clinical excellence in the treatment of the patient with obesity.

The Texas Association for Bariatric Surgery (TABS) was established in 2005 to be a resource for physicians, bariatric surgeons and weight loss surgery patients, and is the first state chapter of the Association of Metabolic & Bariatric Surgery.

TABS was organized to serve weight loss surgery patients and medical professionals practicing bariatric surgery in Texas through the sharing of ideas, the establishment a referral network, the promotion of wellness and healthy living, and advocacy efforts on behalf of the obese.

TABS offers a variety of committees in which members may become involved. Through the Education, Public Action and Finance Committees and Speakers Bureau, TABS members conduct patient education, promote healthful living and advocate for the rights of the obese.

The TABS membership includes 65 physicians and surgeons across the state and is governed by a volunteer board of directors.

Executive Officers (2020-2022)

Sina Matin


Luis Reyes

Vice President

Tanyaradzwa M Kajese


Benjamin Clapp


Watson Roye, Jr.

At Large Board Member


Hugh Babineau

At Large Board Member


Robert O. Carpenter

Immediate Past President

Past Presidents

Mickey Seger

Richard Peterson

Glenn Ihde

Erik Wilson

Lloyd Steggemann

Regional Board Members

Bo Neichoy

Regional Board Member: West Regional


Terry Scarborough

Regional Board Member: Coastal


Andre Graham

Regional Board Member: Northeast


Todd Wilson

Regional Board Member: South Central


Richard Englehardt

Regional Board Member: North Central


Integrated Health Officers (2020-2021)

John Archibeque

Integrated Health President

Blanca Villarreal

Integrated Health Secretary

Carol Wolin

Integrated Health Immediate Past President

Past Presidents

Cyndi Inkpen

Connie Klein

Renee O'Daniel

Sharla Stroup